SU selected to the play in ECAC Southwest Bowl Championship at Moravian

SU selected to the play in ECAC Southwest Bowl Championship at Moravian

CAPE COD, Mass. - The Salisbury University football team was selected on Monday to participate in the 2008 Eastern College Athletic Conference (ECAC) Division III Southwest Bowl Championship game. The Sea Gulls (8-2) will travel to Bethlehem, Pa., on Saturday, November 22, to face Moravian College (8-2). The game will be held at Rocco Calvo Field and is scheduled to start at Noon.

No. 23 Salisbury ended the regular-season with a 55-14 victory over in-state rival Frostburg State University, last Saturday, at Navy-Marine Corps Memorial Stadium in Annapolis, Md., to win its fifth straight Regents Cup.

Salisbury is making its fourth appearance in an ECAC Bowl and has won the past two contests. The last bowl appearance for the Sea Gulls was in 2006 when the Sea Gulls upended Delaware Valley College, 15-9, to win the ECAC South Atlantic Bowl Championship in Doylestown, Pa. SU participated in back-to-back ECAC bowls in 2005 and '06. Salisbury defeated Franklin & Marshall, 27-23, at Sea Gull Stadium in the 2005 ECAC Southeast Bowl Championship. The Sea Gulls first ECAC bowl game appearance was in 1995 against Albright College in the ECAC Southwest Bowl Championship.  

This will mark the first-ever meeting between the two schools. The teams do not share any common opponents this season.

Moravian, hails from the Centennial Conference, is making its fourth appearance in the ECAC Bowl Championships. The Greyhounds have played in the Southeast Championship in 2002 and the Southwest Championship games in 2004 and 2005. The Greyhounds won the 2005 contest with a 14-7 victory over Frostburg State University. This is Moravian's first time hosting an ECAC bowl championship game.

Salisbury is one of 14 teams selected to a 2008 ECAC Bowl Championship game.

The other ECAC bowl championship games:
Northeast: St. John Fisher (6-4) at Husson (7-2)
North Atlantic: Alfred (7-3) at RPI (7-2)
Northwest: SUNY Brockport (6-4) at Hartwick (7-2)
South Atlantic: Kean (7-2) at Delaware Valley (7-3)
Southeast: Catholic (8-2) at Johns Hopkins (8-2)
South Central: Albright (7-3) at Montclair State (8-2)
Southwest: Salisbury (8-2) at Moravian (8-2)

Also see:

View: Mobile | Desktop