Six Gulls honored on All-CAC teams

Six Gulls honored on All-CAC teams

YORK, Pa. – As the No. 4 Salisbury University field hockey team prepares for its NCAA Division III Field Hockey second-round game against the winner of Rowan University and the University of Rochester (N.Y.), the Capital Athletic Conference announced its All-CAC teams in which six Sea Gulls were honored.

Seniors Erica Henderson, Kristina Fusco, and Amber Holland were all named to the all-conference team for the second time, with first-team nods, while senior Melissa Slocum, junior Katie Hastings and sophomore Summer Washburn received their first All-CAC accolades having been named to the second team.

Henderson leads SU with 16 goals on the season and is third best in the conference behind CAC Co-Players of the Year, University of Mary Washington's Lisa Charney (22) and Welsey College's Madison Leone (20). This is the senior captain's second All-CAC selection, as the forward was named to the first team in 2010.

Joining Henderson on the first team are Fusco and Holland. Fusco has put away eight goals this season, three of which have been game winners. This is the second consecutive year that the senior captain has been named to the first team.

Holland makes her second appearance on the All-CAC team after having garnered a second-team selection last season. The senior captain has made six defensive saves on the year and is third in the conference when it comes to assists, chipping in on the offensive end with eight.

Three Gulls earned their first All-CAC team awards as Slocum, Hastings and Washburn picked up second-team honors.

Slocum has had a breakout senior campaign with seven goals and eight assists, also good for third best in the conference, while Hastings has provided strong support in the back field holding CAC opponents to just 10 goals. Sophomore midfielder Washburn earns her first All-CAC honor having scored five goals and dishing out six assists. The Andover, Mass., native's presence in the midfield has helped the maroon and gold to their 15-2 record.

The Rookie of the Year as the honor went to Jenna Steele of Mary Washington along with CAC Coach of the Year to Lindsey Elliott, in her second season with the Eagles.

Salisbury will be one of four campus sites hosting the second and third rounds of the NCAA tournament this weekend at Sea Gull Stadium. The Sea Gulls will face the winner of Rowan and Rochester which play later today at 2 p.m.

View: Mobile | Desktop