Berkman named to Tewaaraton Trophy watch list for a second straight year

Berkman named to Tewaaraton Trophy watch list for a second straight year

WASHINGTON, D.C. - The Tewaaraton Award Foundation announced it 2009 Men's Lacrosse Preseason Watch List and Salisbury University senior midfielder Kylor Berkman made the list of 60. Berkman is the one of only three Division III players on the Division I dominate list for the Tewaaraton Trophy, given out each May to the best men's and women's lacrosse player in the nation. This is the second straight year Berkman has made this list.

The 60 players on this list have been nominated by coaches from all three NCAA divisions and are early season candidates for the 2009 Tewaaraton Trophy. The list will be narrowed periodically as the season continues, ultimately reaching a final list of five players who form the finalists.

Salisbury is the only Division III team to have one student-athlete on both the men's and women's watch lists. SU senior midfielder Jessica Chiemelewski is on the women's watch list. In fact, only nine total programs from all divisions have at least one men's and women's players on both watch list. Those programs include Salisbury, Duke, Maryland, Virginia, Princeton, Syracuse, Notre Dame, North Carolina and Georgetown.

Berkman, the reigning Division III Player of the Year and two-time Division III Midfielder of the Year, was named the preseason Division III Player and Midfielder of the Year by several national lacrosse publications. The two-time first-team All-American led the Gulls in assists (49) last season and was second in points (83) and fourth in goals (34). The Salisbury, Md., native was named the Most Outstanding Player of the 2008 NCAA Division III national championship game as he scored five goals and two assists in the 19-13 win over No. 2 SUNY Cortland in Foxborough, Mass.

Last season, Berkman and attackman Matt Hickman were nominated to the Tewaaraton Trophy watch list. Hickman finished his season with 61 goals and 33 assists and was named a first-team All-American at the end of the season. Former Sea Gulls Chase Caruso ('07), Dan Boyer ('06) and Jeff Bigas ('05) have been named to watch list before with Bigas finishing as a semifinalist.

The 9th annual award will be presented on Thursday, May 28, in the University Club of Washington, D.C.. To read more about the Tewaaraton Trophy visit

View: Mobile | Desktop