1991 Season Recap

1991 Season Recap

The 1991 year proved to be a year of success for the Salisbury University men's and women's cross country teams. The teams provided solid races each meet of the season especially at the tail end of the year, where each claimed solid finishes at the Mason-Dixon Conference Championships and the ESAC Championships. The team was guided by a pair of exceptional runners in junior Tim Smith and senior Erin Green.

After beginnig the year with two impressive finishes at the Essex Invitational, the teams traveled to the highly contested Lebanon Valley Invitational. At the meet, SU faced many Division I and II teams but were still able to finish with top-20 performances. The women placed third to the men's second at the CNU Invitational before coming in sixth and seventh, respectively, at the Frostburg Invitational. After a pair of sixth place finishes at the Maryland State Championships, the teams would both win the Goucher Invitational and place second at the Tidewater Invitational. The squads would claim identical finishes for the fourth consecutive race at the Mason-Dixon Championships when each ended up fourth. The teams would end their season at the ESAC Championships as the women would take the conference title and the men placed third.

The men were led by Smith, who posted the top finishes in each race for the Sea Gulls. He was named to the All-Mason-Dixon first team after placing second (26:43) at the conference meet. Smith won the Tidewater Invitational (25:42), which proved to be 10 seconds faster than the previous course record. Smith also collected a third place finish (26:21) at the Maryland College Championships. Senior David Atlas closely followed Smith with a number of impressive performances. Atlas finished fifth (27:11) at the CNU Invitational,eighth (27:12) at the Tidewater Invitational, and 20th (27:20) at the Maryland State Championships. Atlas won the Goucher Invitational as well with a time of 28:09.

The SU women were propelled by Green. Green was named to the All-Mason-Dixon Conference first team for the second consecutive year after finishing fourth with a time of 19:58. She picked up solid secon place time (19:10) at the Tidewater Invitational. Senior Cathy Emerson and freshman Dorothy Dean also posted big years for the Sea Gulls. Emerson was named to the All-Mason-Dixon second team after finishing in 13th with a time of 21:20. The two runners named to the All-Mason-Dixon team proved to be the first in SSU women's cross country history.

Most Valuable Men's Runner - Tim Smith

Most Valuable Women's Runner - Erin Green

View: Mobile | Desktop