Adkins, Meekins named to All-CAC First Team; Haas, Marmol pick up Second Team honors

Adkins, Meekins named to All-CAC First Team; Haas, Marmol pick up Second Team honors

FREDERICKSBURG, Va. – The Capital Athletic Conference announced its All-CAC baseball teams on Wednesday afternoon and Salisbury junior Justin Meekins and sophomore Jimmy Adkins were named to the first team. Junior Brad Haas and freshman Xavier Marmol were each awarded second team honors.

Adkins earns his first All-CAC award for his work on the mound as one of the top pitchers in the conference in 2019. The sophomore holds a 3.00 earned run average through 75 innings of work so far this season. He has collected three complete games, one of which came in the form of a road shutout against then No.1 Christopher Newport University, and compiled a 5-1 record with 54 strikeouts and only 19 walks.

Meekins returns to the All-CAC First Team for the third straight season. The junior continued to show why he is one of the top hitters in the league by compiling a .406 batting average across 106 at-bats. Meekins currently sits at five home runs and 13 stolen bases, while also scoring 29 runs and driving in another 26.

Haas makes the All-CAC team for the first time in his career after stepping into an everyday role in left field this season. The junior is currently hitting .362 in 152 at-bats, while also leading the team with 14 stolen bases. He has scored 42 runs and driven home another 38.

Marmol earns his first All-CAC award after stepping into an important role in the Salisbury rotation in his first year in college and running away with it. The freshman currently leads the league with nine wins – including a complete game against York College of Pennsylvania back on April 13, and a 2.48 earned run average. He has struck out 41 batters in 58 1/3 innings of work while only allowing 16 earned runs.

Salisbury will await the announcement of the field for the 2019 NCAA Division III Baseball Tournament, looking for an at-large bid. The selection show will take place on Monday, May 13, beginning at noon.

View: Mobile | Desktop