Griffin named nominee for 2012 Allstate Good Works Team

Griffin named nominee for 2012 Allstate Good Works Team

NORTHBROOK, Ill. - The Allstate Insurance Company and the American Football Coaches Association (AFCA) recently announced 117 nominees for the Allstate AFCA Good Works Team. Among the nominees was Salisbury University senior quarterback Dan Griffin.

The award is one of college football's most prestigious off-the-field honors. It singles out athletes not only for their hard work and dedication to the game but for their contributions to their community. Griffin joins former linebacker, and current assistant coach, Jamey McClendon, who was a nominee in both 2010 and 2011.

 "This year's Allstate AFCA Good Works Team nominees have some of the most impressive community service resumes in the program's 21-year history," said Kathy Mabe, president of Allstate's West region and a member of the 2012 Allstate AFCA Good Works Team voting panel. "These young men continue to raise the bar for the impact that student-athletes can have on others, and are an inspiration to Allstate, our agents and our employees."

Griffin has participated with various local elementary schools for Dr. Seuss night in addition to free football clinics targeted toward elementary and middle school students. For his work with the Horizons program, Griffin was a buddy for the day to a young Horizons student, playing games, talking football, and eating pizza.

On the field Griffin was the 2011 Empire 8 Offensive Player of the Year. During the season he scored 35 total touchdowns, rushing for 20 scores to go with 1,028 yards and completing more than 53 percent of his passes for 1,208 yards and 15 touchdowns.

From the nominees submitted by sports information directors across the nation on behalf of their schools, a special voting panel consisting of former Allstate AFCA Good Works Team members and prominent college football media members will select two 11-player Good Works Teams – one comprised of players from the NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision and another representing players from the NCAA Football Championship Subdivision, Divisions II, III, and the NAIA. The final roster of 22 award recipients will be unveiled in September.

The 2012 Allstate AFCA Good Works Team voting panel includes: former Good Works Team members Alex Van Pelt (Pittsburgh, 1992 team), Zaid Abdul-Aleem (Duke, 1994 team), Matt Stinchcomb (Georgia, 1997, 1998 teams), Grant Irons (Notre Dame, 1999 team), Brian Brenberg (St. Thomas, 2001 team), Mike Proman (Amherst, 2002 team); media members Lou Holtz (ESPN), Kirk Herbstreit (ESPN), Tom O'Toole (USA Today), Andy Staples (, Blair Kerkhoff (Kansas City Star); current AFCA President and Harvard University Head Coach Tim Murphy; 1987 AFCA President LaVell Edwards, former head coach at Brigham Young University; and Kathy Mabe, President, West Regions at Allstate.

Griffin and the Sea Gulls open the 2012 season on Saturday, Sept. 1 at Christopher Newport University.

View: Mobile | Desktop