Vote Wood for 2012 Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year

Vote Wood for 2012 Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year

SALISBURY, Md. – Salisbury University football fans have the opportunity to help select the recipient of the 2012 Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year Award. From now until Nov. 30, Salisbury fans can vote for Head Coach Sherman Wood at and tweet their votes via Twitter.

In its seventh season, the Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year Award is the only college football award that supports both charity and scholarship through its winners. It honors one coach in each NCAA division who best exemplifies sportsmanship, integrity, responsibility and excellence on and off the field. Liberty Mutual will donate $50,000 to support the charities of each winning coach and $20,000 to his school's alumni association for academic scholarships.

To cast your vote, tweet the following, "I vote Sherman Wood of Salisbury University for @lmcoachofyear #COTY2012" Fans may tweet once a day until voting closes.

The winner is chosen by a combination of voting from fans, the College Football Hall of Fame selection committee and national media. Finalists will be announced Dec. 4 at the National Football Foundation Awards Dinner Press Conference in New York City. The winners will be announced Jan. 7, 2013, prior to the BCS championship game.

The Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year Award celebrates college football coaches from the Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS), Football Championship Subdivision (FCS), Division II and Division III for their successful seasons, student-athletes' performance in the classroom, and charitable and civic support in their communities. Since 2006, Liberty Mutual Insurance has awarded more than $1.5 million to over 90 charities and colleges across the country as part of its annual Coach of the Year Award.

View: Mobile | Desktop