Carter, Hamby E8 Players of the Year; 12 named to all-conference teams

Carter, Hamby E8 Players of the Year; 12 named to all-conference teams

ROCHESTER, N.Y. – The Empire 8 Athletic Conference announced its postseason awards and the Salisbury University football team was again highly decorated, taking home two Player of the Year awards and 12 all-conference selections, the league announced Tuesday.

Senior cornerback Andre Carter was named the Defense Player of the Year and junior punter Kyle Hamby was honored as Special Teams Player of the Year.

Salisbury's defense was second in the nation with 23 passes intercepted, with Carter leading the Sea Gulls with six passes picked off. Carter fulfilled his preseason promise as a disruptive force for Head Coach Sherman Wood, batting down an additional nine passes, which also led the Salisbury defense. The Huntingtown, Md., native was tied for fifth on the team with 48 tackles, including 30 solo stops. This is the third-consecutive season that Carter has been named to the First Team All-Empire 8 defense.

Hamby repeats as the Empire 8 Special Teams Player of the Year and a First Team selection for his work pinning opponents deep in their territory. Hamby finished the season as the league's leading punter with a 41.1 average, good for 11th in the nation. The Laurel, Md., native booted the ball 41 times over the season for 1,807 yards, including a 70-yard punt and pinned the opponent inside the 20-yard line 17 times.

Carter and Hamby were first team honorees along with senior offensive lineman Mark Bohanan and senior cornerback Calvin Ford.

Salisbury was by far the best rushing team in the Empire 8, thanks to the efforts of Bohanan and the offensive line. Salisbury runners put up 284.6 yards per game, good for 10th in the nation. The California, Md., native was a Second Team All-E8 selection last season.

Ford finished the season with 65 tackles, second most on the team, from his spot in the secondary. The Ellicott City, Md., native picked off a pass while defending another three. With an all-star secondary, the defense finished second in the conference in scoring defense, allowing only 16.9 points per game.

Sophomore running back Jerome Johnson was named to the offensive second team after leading the Sea Gulls with 627 yards gained on the ground. The Rehoboth, Del., native had 63 carries for nearly 10 yards per carry, finding the end zone four times during the season.

Junior offensive lineman Jesse Langford III was also a Second Team selection.

Linebackers Nick Anzallo and Matt Banta, offensive lineman John Dankos, safety Greg Stanton and junior return man Isaiah Taylor were honorable mention selections. This is the second-consecutive season Stanton has been recognized for his play, as he was a second-team defensive selection last season.

Junior quarterback Joey Jones was named Salisbury's Empire 8 Sportsman of the Year.

For the complete listing of the all-conference selections, click here.

View: Mobile | Desktop