Trio of Sea Gulls named to All-East Region Team

Trio of Sea Gulls named to All-East Region Team

MINNEAPOLIS – Three members of the Salisbury University football team were selected as members of the All-East Region Team, the website announced on Tuesday.

Senior Andre Carter and junior Kyle Hamby were each named first-team members, while senior Mark Bohanan was selected for the third team. The selections bring Salisbury's program total to 24 since the program was initiated following the 2005 season.

Carter closed his career with the Sea Gulls with the program's second-highest interception total, grabbing 16 in his four years, including six this season. This marks the Huntintown, Md. native's third All-Region appearance, having been a first-team selection last year and a third-team choice in 2010. He was a preseason All-American this year. The cornerback recorded 48 tackles this year, 30 of which were solo stops. Along with his six interceptions, he also broke up nine other passes.

Hamby was one of the most dangerous field position weapons in the nation, finishing his year ranked 11th in the nation and led the Empire 8 Athletic Conference with a 41.1-yard average punt. Hamby had 44 punts this season, dropping 17 inside the 20-yard line, and had a season-long effort of 70 yards. Hamby is making his second-consecutive appearance on the All-Region first team.

Bohanan, Salisbury's starting center throughout the year, led the Sea Gulls to 283.5 rushing yards per game, which ranked 10th in the nation and led the Empire 8. This is Bohanan's first All-Region selection, but he was a first-team All-Empire 8 pick in 2012.

All three players were All-Empire 8 First-Team members this season.

In 2013, Salisbury posted a 7-4 mark, and was selected to play in the Eastern College Athletic Conference's South Atlantic Bowl. The Sea Gulls claimed a 21-19 win against Muhlenberg College to close out the season.

To see the entire list of All-Region selections, click here. The three Sea Gulls are now eligible for selection to the All-American Team, which will be announced on Friday, Dec. 20.

View: Mobile | Desktop