Lanham, Wood highlight Football's 13 All-NJAC selections

Lanham, Wood highlight Football's 13 All-NJAC selections

PITMAN, N.J. –  The New Jersey Athletic Conference (NJAC) announced it's All-NJAC selections on Friday and the Salisbury University football earned 13 all-conference selections.

Sophomore quarterback Jack Lanham was named the NJAC Co-Offensive Player of the Year. A two-time NJAC Offensive Player of the Week selection this season, Lanham currently leads the NJAC in pass efficiency (193.2), yards per attempt (12.1) and yards per completion (21.6). He also currently ranks third in the league in rushing (67.3 yards per game), fourth in total offense (177.7 yards per game), and fifth in scoring (5.3 points per game).

For the second time in the five-year affiliate membership in the NJAC, head coach Sherman Wood was honored as the NJAC Coach of the Year. So far in 2019, Wood has guided the Sea Gulls to a 9-0 overall record and the outright NJAC championship with a perfect 7-0 mark in league play. Now in his 21st season at the helm of the Sea Gulls, Wood has guided the Sea Gulls to an overall record of 154-70.

It is Wood's fifth conference coach of the year award in his career. He won the Atlantic Central Football Conference Coach of the Year in 2004, Empire 8 Coach of the Year in 2011 and 2012 and the NJAC Coach of the Year in 2015.

Lanham along with senior offensive lineman Tyler Norwood, senior defensive end Matthew McFarland, senior linebacker Patrick Bernardo, junior defensive back Sean Carroll and junior slotback Chad Gleason were named to the All-NJAC First Team. It is the second time that Norwood, McFarland, Bernardo and Carroll landed on All-NJAC teams.

Norwood helped the Salisbury offense lead the conference in scoring offense, total offense, time of possession and rushing offense.

Bernardo led the team and ranked fifth in the NJAC in tackles per game (8.2). Bernardo also totaled 74 tackles for the season and sits ninth in Salisbury history with tackles with 256 for his career.

Carroll sat atop the conference leaderboards in defensive touchdowns as he returned two of his three interceptions for touchdowns during the regular season. Carroll also notched 54 tackles and defended eight passes. He was named the NJAC Defensive Player of the Week back on Sept. 9.

McFarland helped the Salisbury defense become the best run defenders in the NJAC, allowing opponents only 75.9 yards per game during the regular season. McFarland registered 24 tackles, four sacks, three tackles for loss and a forced fumble.

Gleason made the All-NJAC First Team as a return specialist. Gleason led the NJAC in punt return average with 13.8 yards per return. He also ranked eighth in the league in all-purpose yards per game with 83.4 yards per contest.

Senior super back Mike-Ryan Mofor, senior offensive lineman Tyler Rosello, senior defensive back Jamarkus Brumskin, junior offensive lineman Joseph Osborne and junior linebacker Andrew Raines were selected to the All-NJAC Second Team.

Mofor led the conference with 10 rushing touchdowns. Mofor totaled 423 rushing yards on 49 carries to average 8.6 yards per carry.

Rosello and Osborne joined Norwood in helping Salisbury lead the conference in several offensive categories including scoring offense, total offense, time of possession and rushing offense. In the nation, Salisbury ranks third in rushing offense and 19th in total offense. It is the second time Rosello has been named All-NJAC.

Raines and Brumskin each notched 21 tackles on the season. Raines added four tackles for loss and 1.5 sacks while Brumskin broke up five passes and collected an interception.

Senior wide receiver Octavion Wilson and junior kicker Bert Schrecongost rounded out the NJAC honorees as honorable mention selections. A former NJAC Offensive Player of the Week, Wilson led the team with 21 receptions for 391 yards and three touchdowns. Schrecongost made all five of his field-goal attempts and converted 54-of-57 PATs. Schrecongost won the NJAC Special Teams Player of the Week award on Oct. 20.

Salisbury will open the NCAA Tournament on Saturday when they host the SUNY-Maritime Privateers. Kickoff from Sea Gull Stadium is set for 12 p.m.


View: Mobile | Desktop