No. 6 Salisbury sweeps CAC top honors; Chamberlin is Coach of the Year for 17th time

No. 6 Salisbury sweeps CAC top honors; Chamberlin is Coach of the Year for 17th time

FREDERICKSBURG, Va. –  The season is not over for the No. 6 Salisbury University field hockey team, but the accolades are already rolling in. The Capital Athletic Conference released its 2018 awards on Friday and the Sea Gulls swept all three major awards – Rookie of the Year, Player of the Year, and Coach of the Year – in addition to placing four players on the All-CAC first team and five on the All-CAC second team.

Junior Jillian Hughes earned the conference's top honor as Player of the Year. The 2016 CAC Rookie of the Year, Hughes is just the fifth player in conference history to secure both Rookie and Player of the Year honors throughout their careers. Hughes has now earned a spot on the All-CAC first team in each of her three seasons. Salisbury has secured the last three-straight CAC Player of the Year awards, and 17 overall.

Freshman Tara Flavin earned Rookie of the Year, becoming the 10th Sea Gull to receive the honor; she was also named to the All-CAC second team. Flavin has put together a stellar first-year campaign, earning seven starts and scoring just as many goals.

Joining Hughes on the first team are classmates Tara Daddio, Lindsey Elgin, and Arielle Johnston. Daddio has been an offensive force for Salisbury this year, netting 18 goals and dishing out three assists. Elgin has played a key role in the Sea Gull defense, which has limited its opponents to just 13 goals in 18 games. Johnston, a 2017 All-CAC first team selection, has been a dominant presence in the midfield in addition to scoring five goals and dishing out four assists.

Joining Flavin on the second team are senior Emily Lemanski, juniors Jenna Partilla and Sarah Jackson, and sophomore Dom Farrace. Partilla has scored seven goals while Lemanski has added five to the Sea Gulls' total. Jackson has been a key on defense, including registering a team-high three defensive saves, while Farrace boasts a 0.74 goals-against average. 

Head Coach Dawn Chamberlin, who recently earned her 500th career victory, collected Coach of the Year honors for the 17th time in the 28-year history of the award. She led the Sea Gulls to their 21st CAC Championship last week, which granted them access to the program's 34th NCAA Tournament appearance.

To see the full list of All-CAC selections, click here.

View: Mobile | Desktop