Berkman repeats as FieldTurf Tarkett Coach of the Year

PHILADELPHIA - For the second straight year the FieldTurf Tarkett Division III Men's Lacrosse Coach of the Year was awarded to Salisbury University's own Jim Berkman.

Berkman guided the Sea Gulls to one of the best men's lacrosse seasons in NCAA history in 2007. The maroon and gold capped off a record setting season with a perfect 23-0 record and a seventh NCAA Division III national championship. This is Salisbury's fourth national title in five years. The Sea Gulls set new NCAA season records for goals (417), assists (271) and points (688). The 1995 SU national championship squad previously held all three records. Salisbury also had 11 All-Americans in 2007 and earned five national awards including Division III Player of the Year. Over the summer, Berkman was featured in Sports Illustrated (July 30) in the "Faces on the Crowd" weekly feature.

This is only the second year for the FieldTurf Tarkett Coach of the Year awards. The other award winners, one from each division of men's and women's lacrosse, are Jeff Tambroni (Cornell), Julie Myers (Virginia), Mike Pressler (Bryant), Ginny Martino (West Chester) and Missy Foote (Middlebury). The FieldTurf Tarkett Team of the Year went to the men's team from Cornell.

FieldTurf Tarkett is the largest entity in the sports surfacing industry and provides unparalleled leasing capabilities, engineering and manufacturing resources. For more information, please visit

The awards were presented at the Intercollegiate Men's Lacrosse Coaches Association (IMLCA) Awards Luncheon at the Philadelphia Marriott Downtown Hotel on December 15.

Berkman and assistant coach Brendan Dawson will present a Shooting Drill presentation at the upcoming 2008 US Lacrosse National Convention on January 18-20 in Philadelphia. The two also presented the same topic at the IMLCA convention in December. To view the presentation online please click here.

View: Mobile | Desktop