Brittingham and Knight honored in CAC, eight others named All-CAC

Brittingham and Knight honored in CAC, eight others named All-CAC

YORK, Pa. - After a successful end to the Capital Athletic Conference tournament and picking up an automatic bid into the NCAA tournament the No. 18 Salisbury University Softball team received more good news on Monday as nine members of the flock were named to the All-CAC first and second teams, along with taking home Player of the Year and Coach of the Year awards.

For the second consecutive year, senior Erika Brittingham was named the Capital Athletic Conference Softball Player of the Year after helping the Sea Gulls claim their 17th CAC crown. Brittingham is just the sixth player, and fifth Sea Gull, in CAC history to win the CAC Player of the Year award in back-to-back years. The Georgetown, Del., native boasts a 20-3 record with 187 strikeouts and a 0.23 ERA against CAC competitors.

Head Coach Margie Knight was selected by her peers for the fifth-straight year as the CAC Coach of the Year, Knight has garnered this award 11 times since 1997.

Joining Brittingham on the first team is classmate Casey Zaino. Zaino returns to the All-CAC first team having accumulated a .471 batting average against CAC opponents, .356 overall. Juniors Michelle Gravdahl, Hannah Mills and Sarah Alpaugh join the senior pair on the first team.

Gravdahl, a three-time first-team member, has been a staple for Salisbury behind the plate and in the batter's box, having picked off seven opponents and leading SU with 13 doubles. Mills and Alpaugh join the first team for the first time this season. Mills leads Salisbury with nine home runs while Alpaugh has picked up seven extra bases this season going 7-for-7 in steal attempts.

The five first-team selections were the most out of any other CAC team, along with four Gulls named to the second team.

Sophomore Harley Hill along with juniors Carly Read and Chelsea Brooks and freshman Rachel Johnson were named to the second team.

Hill had a .439 batting average against conference opponents while Johnson went undefeated in the circle with a 6-0 conference record. Read and Brooks each have been flawless in the field thus far in 2012.

Picking up Rookie of the Year honors was Hannah Otterman, a freshman pitcher from the University of Mary Washington.

This is the 16th consecutive year that a Sea Gull has been named Player of the Year and the nine members on the All-CAC squads brings SU's tally up to 134 Gulls being named All-CAC since 1995, 115 softball members have been named to first team and 19 to the second team.

Salisbury now awaits to see where it will be placed in the NCAA tournament field.

View: Mobile | Desktop