Bollhorst, Wheatley claim National Player of the Year honors

Bollhorst, Wheatley claim National Player of the Year honors

GRAND LAKE, Colo. – The Salisbury University women's lacrosse team captured the program's second NCAA Division III national championship, and the awards continue to come in for the Sea Gulls as the Intercollegiate Women's Lacrosse Coaches Association named senior Katie Bollhorst and junior Ashton Wheatley the Division III Attacker and Goalkeeper of the Year, respectively.

Bollhorst, who completed her career as the program's all-time leader in assists (171) and third in points (297), finished 2013 ranked eighth in Division III lacrosse with 62 assists and 21st with 103 points while adding 41 goals. In the national championship game, Bollhorst finished with a goal and an assist.

Wheatley, who was named the IWLCA Goalkeeper of the Year in 2012 as well, claimed the award by leading her team to the national championship in 2013. In the national semifinal game, against Middlebury College, Wheatley recorded a career-best 12 saves in a one-goal win against the Panthers, and added nine more saves in the title game the next day. Wheatley finished the year with a 5.56 goals-against average and .563 save percentage; both numbers ranked second in the nation.

The Cambridge, Md., native recorded 142 saves in the season, and now has 280 in her career, which ranks fifth in program history.

Bollhorst is the second Sea Gull named IWLCA Attacker of the Year, joining Kate Scott, who picked up the honor in 2006. Wheatley  is just the second Sea Gull to earn two National Player of the Year awards, matching Sarah McKinley, who was named Defender of the Year in 2009 and '10.

The pair each earned the same awards from Synapse Sports for the 2013 season, defending the awards they received from the organization following the 2012 season.

Salisbury finished the season undefeated, in 23 games, while ranking second in the nation in scoring defense (5.22 goals per game) and 11th scoring offense (15.78 goals per game) while claiming the 17th team national championship in school history.

View: Mobile | Desktop