Wheatley, Baer land IWLCA Position of the Year awards

Wheatley, Baer land IWLCA Position of the Year awards

VALLEY FORGE, Pa. – Saturday night at the Radisson Hotel Valley Forge, the Intercollegiate Women's Lacrosse Coaches Association awarded 144 All-Americans across the three divisions at its annual IWLCA All-American Banquet. Also recognized during the ceremony were the highest honors of the season, the Player of the Year awards, and Salisbury University senior Ashton Wheatley and junior Bethany Baer were announced as the Goalkeeper and Midfielder of the Year, respectively, for Division III. 

The reigning national champions landed two Position of the Year awards for the second-consecutive year, as the Sea Gulls claimed Attacker and Goalkeeper of the Year last season. 

Wheatley was honored as Goalkeeper of the Year for the third-straight year adding to her list of countless accolades in her career. The senior captain guarded the cage for three full seasons, racking up a program-record 66 victories and falling just twice.  For her career, Wheatley made 412 saves placing her fourth on the program all-time list, while maintaining a 5.61 goals-against average. Being known for her skills outside of the crease as well, the Cambridge, Md., native caused 61 turnovers through her time donning the maroon and gold and scooped 136 groundballs, placing her second in program history. 

Baer concludes her junior season with the recognition as Midfielder of the Year. Being named the Most Outstanding Player of the NCAA Division III tournament, the starting captain continued to baffle opponents with her skills on both sides of the field. Recording a career-high 48 goals this season along with 13 assists for 61 points, the Westminster, Md., native led the Sea Gulls in draw controls and groundballs with 61 and 41, respectively. With her senior season approaching, Baer already sits second in program history with 133 draw controls, just 73 wins behind the top spot. She also is in seventh place in groundballs with 107. 

Salisbury has now claimed 10 Position of the Year awards since the 2006 season when alum Kate Scott landed Attacker of the Year. 

To view the complete list of IWLCA awards, click here. 

View: Mobile | Desktop