Six Gulls earn CAC Silver Anniversary honors for women's lacrosse

Six Gulls earn CAC Silver Anniversary honors for women's lacrosse

YORK, Pa. – The Capital Athletic Conference announced another Silver Anniversary team on Thursday afternoon, this time it was for women's lacrosse, and Salisbury University had six alumnae earn the accolade.

The Sea Gulls have compiled an incredible resume since joining the CAC in 1995. Winning 14 conference championships, Salisbury has gone the past 12 seasons without dropping a single game in the league to set the winning streak to 78 games, a Division III all-time record. Winning three national championships in five seasons, including back-to-back in 2013 and 2014, the Gulls have been a national finalist seven times since 2005.

Jen Mezzadra donned the maroon and gold from 1998-2001, becoming one of the most pronounced offensive players in program history. The all-time leading goal scorer for Salisbury with 248 goals in her career, Mezzadra put together three-consecutive seasons of over 65 finishes, including a program-best 84 goals her senior season. The Baltimore, Maryland native was a three-time All-American and a first-team All-CAC player her final three seasons, earning Player of the Year in the conference her senior year.

Linda Ackermann played for Salisbury from 2002-'05, ranking seventh in program history in goals scored with 134 in her career. Also coming in at No. 5 in groundballs in a career with 114, the Sykesville, Maryland native was named CAC Player of the Year in her final season. A three-time All-CAC player, Ackermann earned first-team All-American status in 2005.

Joining Ackermann on the field for three seasons, Mary Bateman represented the Sea Gulls from 2003-'06. The all-time program leader in groundballs with 166 and sixth in draw controls with 114, the Sparks, Maryland native was a two-time All-American and made an appearance on the All-CAC team her final three seasons.

Sue Ackermann joined her sister, Linda, at Salisbury in 2005, putting together quite a resume in four seasons. Compiling 152 points off 82 goals and 70 assists her senior year, Ackermann remains the program's all-time points leader with 321, while ranking second in goals (172) and assists (149). The Sykesville, Maryland native was named CAC Player of the Year twice, including first-team All-CAC and All-American status her final two seasons with Salisbury.

Katie Bollhorst donned the maroon and gold from 2010-'13, helping the program make its mark in the history book by winning its first two national championships in 2010 and 2013. Bollhorst ranks first on the program's career assist list with 171 helpers, 72 of which were scored her junior season for second best in a single season, while coming in at No. 3 in career points with 297. The Severna Park, Maryland native earned CAC Player of the Year in her final two seasons, eventually leading to National Attack Player of the Year her senior year. Bollhorst was named first-team All-CAC and All-American twice to conclude her career.

Ashton Wheatley is one of the most decorated players in program history, protecting the net for Salisbury from 2011-'14. Labeled as a three-time National Goalkeeper of the Year and two-time national champion, Wheatley holds the team's win record with 66 for her career, only dropping two games her entire four-year stint. Making 412 saves in her career, good for fourth best, her dominance outside of the circle has her ranked No. 2 in groundballs with 136 while causing 61 turnovers. A three-time first-team All-American, the Cambridge, Maryland native earned first-team All-CAC her final three seasons along with being one of just two Division III players to be placed on the distinguished Tewaaraton Watch List during her senior season.

About the CAC Silver Anniversary Teams

The CAC Silver Anniversary Teams will be announced early in the regular-season for each respective sport. Each Silver Anniversary Team honoree will receive a commemorative gift from the conference, and many will be recognized by their institution/alma mater at some time during the academic year.

The University of Mary Washington, a charter member of the CAC, led the conference with 153 current and former student-athletes on the Silver Anniversary Teams, including 40 in men's and women's tennis combined. Salisbury University, which joined the CAC in the 1994-95 athletic season, was second with 122 Silver Anniversary Team honorees. CAC charter members York College of Pa. (60) and St. Mary's College of Md. (35) were next in line for most Silver Anniversary Team honorees.

The CAC was organized as a six-team affiliation in 1989 and began championship competition with the winter sports during the 1990-91 season. Membership changes in the last decade ultimately created a 10-team conference that has become one of the strongest in NCAA Division III.

CAC teams have won 18 national team championships, and dozens of other teams have finished in among the top four in NCAA Division III competition.

To view the complete Silver Anniversary team, click here.

View: Mobile | Desktop