No. 8 Gulls set to host No. 13 Continentals in NCAA second round

No. 8 Gulls set to host No. 13 Continentals in NCAA second round

SALISBURY, Md. – The No. 8 Salisbury University women's lacrosse team plays host to No. 13 Hamilton College on Sunday, May 10 for a second-round matchup of the 2015 NCAA Division III tournament at Sea Gull Stadium. First draw is set for 1 p.m.

Follow the Game

Click here for live stats

Click here for live video

Click here to view the tournament page

Click here to view full Salisbury game notes

How We Got Here

The Sea Gulls earned the Capital Athletic Conference's automatic qualifier into the national tournament after downing York College of Pennsylvania for the fourth-consecutive year in the league title game. It was the program's 13th-straight championship, 15th overall.

How They Got Here

The Continentals received an at-large bid into the national tournament after falling in the quarterfinals of the New England Small College Athletic Conference tournament to Tufts University, 7-6. Four other NESCAC teams join Hamilton in the field of 38.

Series History

The squads have faced each other four times dating back to 2000, three of the meetings being in the tournament. The first meeting in 2000 was in the second round with the Sea Gulls taking an 18-15 victory, before falling in 2008 in the semifinals, 11-10. Salisbury would claim redemption in a regular-season matchup in Texas the following season, 12-9, before taking a 7-6 decision over the Continentals in 2010 in the national championship for the program's first title.

Last Time We Met

On May 23, 2010 in Gettysburg, Pennsylvania was the last time the two teams took the field against one another, with a national title on the line. With the game knotted at 6-6 in the closing minutes, Salisbury's Beth Rhodey found Aileen McCausland with 5:26 remaining to take the Gulls' first lead of the game, which was enough to hoist the championship trophy for the first time in program history. Current assistant coaches Kara Koolage and Liz Marr where a part of the 2010 national championship team.

Salisbury in the NCAA Tournament

The Sea Gulls are making their 13th-consecutive appearance in the tournament, 16th overall. With 38 wins over 15 trips, third best in Division III history, and just 12 losses, Salisbury sits second in the history of the tournament in winning percentage (.754). Advancing to seven national championships since 2005, the Gulls have hoisted the trophy three times, tied with Ursinus College for the third most in the tournament's history. Winning back-to-back titles, Salisbury looks to become just the second program to win three-consecutive national championships. The only other team to accomplish the feat was The College of New Jersey when it won four straight from 1993-'96.

Hamilton in the NCAA Tournament

Making their eighth appearance in the big dance, dating back to 2000, the Continentals have pieced together a 13-6 record in tournament play, including three trips to championship weekend, advancing to the title game twice, and winning the national trophy once in 2008 in a 13-6 victory over Franklin & Marshall College. This is Hamilton's first appearance in the tournament since 2011, when it fell in the regional semifinals to Colby College, 6-5.

What's Next?

The winner of Sunday's matchup will advance to next weekend's regional rounds. The regional semifinals on Saturday, May 16, will be against the winner of Middlebury and Massachusetts Institute of Technology. The regional rounds will consist of four teams all playing for the right to advance to the regional final on Sunday, May 17. Start time and location are yet to be determined. Be sure to check for more information as it becomes available.

View: Mobile | Desktop