Nestor named ECAC Coach of the Year; Falcone, Murphy land on All-ECAC teams

Nestor named ECAC Coach of the Year; Falcone, Murphy land on All-ECAC teams

DANBURY, Conn. – The Eastern College Athletic Conference has named Salisbury University head coach Jim Nestor the Division III women's lacrosse Coach of the Year. The Sea Gulls also had two players earn All-ECAC honors, as Gianna Falcone was named to the first team and Krissy Murphy was selected to the second team.

Nestor has led Salisbury to a 19-1 record thus far, collecting Capital Athletic Conference Coach of the Year honors as well. Nestor has the Sea Gulls playing in their 16th straight NCAA tournament after capturing the team's 16th consecutive conference title.

Falcone earns the third All-ECAC first-team nod of her career after yet another impressive season in goal. The senior has posted a 7.41 goals-against average and 54.0 save percentage, both of which are top-14 in Division III. The Florham Park, New Jersey native has added a team-high 44 groundballs to go along with seven caused turnovers and 128 saves. Falcone boasts a 17-1 record in net this season and ranks second in program history with 61 wins. She also ranks fourth in program history with 434 saves and sixth with 115 groundballs.

Murphy's second-team honor is the first All-ECAC selection of her career. The senior leads the team with 66 points on the season, coming on a team-high 39 assists to go along with 27 goals. Murphy ranks seventh in program history with 89 career assists and has cracked the top-10 in single-season assists. The Finksburg, Maryland native has added six groundballs, five draw controls, and three caused turnovers in the 2018 campaign.

To view the full ECAC release, click here.

View: Mobile | Desktop