Four Sea Gulls named to women's tennis Silver Anniversary team

Four Sea Gulls named to women's tennis Silver Anniversary team

YORK, Pa. – The Capital Athletic Conference announced its next Silver Anniversary team in honor of the conference's 25th year of competition, as the women's tennis team was announced on Tuesday, and Salisbury University had four former student-athletes named to the team.

The Sea Gulls joined the CAC for the 1994-'95 athletic season, and since then have won two conference championships in 2002 and 2003 and have had 181 All-CAC athletes. Salisbury has also had one CAC Player of the Year, three CAC Rookies of the Year, and three CAC Coaches of the Year.

Jackie Burr competed for the Sea Gulls from 2007-'10 and was a seven-time all-conference athlete, winning five first-team honors. As a freshman Burr garnered a second-team nod in doubles' play, before earning first team in doubles in her final three seasons. She also won second team in singles in 2008 and first team in her last two seasons.

Donning maroon and gold from 2000-'03, Jody Cogar was the only Sea Gull to be named the conference's Player of the Year, garnering the award in her senior season. Cogar was a singles and doubles All-CAC athlete in each season with the Gulls, taking first-team singles in her freshman season and first-team doubles and singles in her final two seasons.

Jillian Poppe wore maroon and gold from 2010-'13 and was named the conference's Rookie of the Year in 2010, as one-of-three SU athletes to earn the award. Poppe won six All-CAC team nominations, including first-team doubles and singles in 2010 and 2011.

Heather Tyng played for the Sea Gulls from 2000-'03, winning first-team All-CAC team honors in each season with the team. She garnered first-team selections for doubles and singles in 2000 and 2002-'03. Tyng also took first-team doubles during her sophomore season.

To view the entire CAC Silver Anniversary release, click here.

About the CAC Silver Anniversary Teams

The CAC Silver Anniversary Teams will be announced early in the regular-season for each respective sport. Each Silver Anniversary Team honoree will receive a commemorative gift from the conference, and many will be recognized by their institution/alma mater at some time during the academic year.

The University of Mary Washington, a charter member of the CAC, led the conference with 153 current and former student-athletes on the Silver Anniversary Teams, including 40 in men's and women's tennis combined. Salisbury University, which joined the CAC in the 1994-95 athletic season, was second with 122 Silver Anniversary Team honorees. CAC charter members York College of Pa. (60) and St. Mary's College of Md. (35) were next in line for most Silver Anniversary Team honorees.

The CAC was organized as a six-team affiliation in 1989 and began championship competition with the winter sports during the 1990-91 season. Membership changes in the last decade ultimately created a 10-team conference that has become one of the strongest in NCAA Division III.

CAC teams have won 18 national team championships, and dozens of other teams have finished in among the top four in NCAA Division III competition.


View: Mobile | Desktop